Achieving Success as a CS major in UCSD

After my first few quarters as a UCSD student, a lot of strategies I learned in high school have evolved over time. The most important skill I learned the most as a UCSD student is time management. It is very important that a student at UCSD learns to prioritize his/her time because the quarter system at UCSD is fast-paced and material must be learn over a short period of ten weeks per quarter.

Time management is essential in producing great grades. It is a good idea to always keep track of all important dates and deadlines for papers, programming assignments, etc. It may seem overwhelmingly at first, but students in UCSD adjust quite well after a quarter or two. Nevertheless, always study ahead of tests and exams and try not to procrastinate. Procrastinating here in UCSD will lead you down a path of bad grades and low self-esteem.

Also, try to ask for help when you need it. Never be afraid to ask because the tutors and teaching assistants are there for you. Though every student holds a stubborn trait when trying to achieve success, we all need help. SAGE is a good place to start. So never forget that there is always someone there to help you accomplish yours goals at UCSD.

Lastly, try to find study groups for classes you think that would benefit you. Social gatherings or even having a study partner will make studying a lot more active and will help you retain and understand the material better. I learned first hand that learning others is an ideal environment for academic growth. As with all student discussions, in CS, try not to copy code from your friends. It will be breaking the Academic Dishonesty you have with UCSD and will lead to harsh repercussions. So at least try to write the program and then ask someone to look at your code. Start at the bottom and work your way to the top.

As of this blog post, I don’t know everything, but I know what I know. As I continue my studies here in UCSD, I continue learn new things everyday. Though I still procrastinate here and there, I try to make it a habit of always doing homework the day it was assigned as it gives me breathing for other projects and assignments in the future. Also, I’m still trying to learn how to LEARN basically. I’m still trying to figure out the best way to learn. Sometimes I feel that studying independently all the time isn’t the best way for me to learn. So I have started learning along side my classmates.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

